Working with existing pages
Web Pages CMS includes full versioning and publishing management of pages. Existing pages can be accessed from the Edit Page link. Pages are listed in order of the date that they were created - most recent first. The default number of results per page is 10, but this can be adjusted through the Items Per Page filter at the top of the page.
By default, only current pages will be listed. You can choose to include archived pages, but these are excluded by default.
Each page listing includes the title of the page, the date it was created, the date of the most recent version and the number of versions that currently exist. All versions of the page are listed in the first dropdown which displays " --Select Version-- ". Versions are listed by the date that they were published (this is in brackets if the version has been set to be published in the future) or by the word "Draft" where the version has only ever been saved,
Once you select a version the second dropdown populates with a selection of possible actions depending on the type of version you select (and your permissions).
- Preview - This option is available of the current version is a Draft. It enables you to see what the page will look like of you choose to publish it.
- Edit - This option allows you to edit the content of the page.
- Publish Now - If the current version is a draft, this option published the page on the site.
- Publish Later - If the current version is a draft, this option allows you to set a publish date and time for some point in the future. The content will become live when the specified time is reached.
- Unpublish - This converts the currently selected published version to a draft. If there is a previous version with a date, that will become the new "live" version. If there are no previous published versions, the page will be removed from the live site.
- Republish Later - this puts the selected published version into Edit mode so that you can set a future date and time for publication. In the meantime, the current version will be removed from the site to be replaced by the most recently published version if one exists.
- Archive - Archiving removes the page from the site and from the pages listing in the control panel, unless the option to include archived pages is checked.
- Unarchive - This option restores an archived page back to its previous status.
- Delete Version - Web Pages CMS creates a new version everytime you edit a published page. You may want to use this option to keep the number of previous versions under control if you don't really need that version from last year, for instance
- Delete Page - This is the nuclear option. It will remove all versions of the page from the database. Unless you have a backup copy of the database, this is not something you can recover from. You should grant permissions to delete very sparingly.